Rockies Lineup: April 15, 2012 (Oh Yes, It’s Sunday)


What we’re looking at here, folks, is an opportunity for the Rockies to sweep a series for the first time since last August, and to sweep a 3-game series against a division rival for the first time since they defeated these very same Diamondbacks in September 2010 (no, that’s not a typo). The problem is, Jim Tracy’s fabled Sunday lineup is in full force, and, as has been observed by plenty of intelligent people but seemingly not by Tracy himself, giving every regular guy a day off at the same time does not often lead to a win. Off today are Marco Scutaro, Dexter Fowler, Todd Helton, Ramon Hernandez, and Carlos Gonzalez (who didn’t play yesterday, either, on account of strep throat). Those guys combined to score 4 of the Rockies’ 8 runs yesterday, so there goes half our run production. Fortunately, it’s never as simple as running the numbers, so maybe the B team can make something happen today.

Also of note is the optioning of Jordan Pacheco to make room for lefty starter Drew Pomeranz, who makes his 2012 debut today. Chris Nelson hasn’t exactly earned the starting third base job, but somebody off the bench had to go, and Pacheco was the unfortunate roster victim.

Eric Young Jr. CF
Tyler Colvin LF
Troy Tulowitzki SS
Jason Giambi 1B
Michael Cuddyer RF
Wilin Rosario C
Chris Nelson 3B
Jonathan Herrera 2B
Drew Pomeranz P

Kirk Gibson had done a little lineup shuffling of his own, but the only big bat on the bench today is Miguel Montero. Pound for pound, this batting order buries the one Jim Tracy is sending out. On the other hand, the Rockies will get their first look at Trevor Cahill in a Snakes uni today. They’ve only faced him once, when he was with Oakland, back in 2009. They hammered him for 7 runs over 3 2/3 innings, including 4 long balls. Of course, the list of those who hit those long balls reads like a who’s who of long lost Rockies: Clint Barmes, Ian Stewart, Brad Hawpe, and Seth Smith.

Ryan Roberts 3B
Gerardo Parra LF
Justin Upton RF
Chris Young CF
Paul Goldschmidt 1B
Aaron Hill 2B
John McDonald SS
Henry Blanco C
Trevor Cahill P